Oracle Solaris certifications for system administrator- 2013

Oracle has many certification programs.As a system administrator, you may have doubt that which certification should be suitable  to build technical competence. Here we will see the certification path for Solaris administrators.Oracle Solaris certification consists four parts. 
1.Oracle system administration
2.Oracle Solaris cluster
3.Oracle Solaris network administration
4.Oracle Solaris security 

Please read the important announcement from oracle regarding the system administrator certification.
1.Oracle system administration:
If you are beginner or intermediate level of administrator then you can pursue oracle system administration.Still oracle is offering  certifications for Solaris 10 but its better do with Solaris 11.
List of certification available in Oracle Solaris administrator category. 
1.Oracle Certified Associate, Oracle Solaris 10 Operating System (1Z0-876)
2.Oracle Certified Associate, Oracle Solaris 11 System Administrator (1Z0-821)
3.Oracle Certified Professional, Oracle Solaris 10 System Administrator (1Z0-877 & 1Z0-878)
4.Oracle Certified Professional, Oracle Solaris 11 System Administrator (1Z1-822)
Exam Title OS version Exam codes Duration(Minitues) Number of Questions Passing Score Description Training Enforced Qualification
Associate Solaris 10 1Z0-876 90 52 50% No NA
Associate Solaris 11 1Z0-821 120 75 64% Exam Part1 (Solaris11) No NA
Professional Solaris 10 1Z0-877 140 63 66% Exam Part1 (Solaris10) Yes NA
Professional Solaris 10 1Z0-878 140 63 66% Exam Part2 (Solaris10) Yes NA
Professional Solaris 11 1Z1-822 180 150-225 TBD% Exam Part2 (Solaris11) Yes Certified Associate
2.Oracle Solaris cluster:

Once you have completed oracle system administration,then you can pursue Oracle Solaris cluster.In a order to complete this certification,then you need hands on experience on Solaris cluster for 6 months and should good knowledge in volume managers like SVM,VXVM,ZFS.

Certification Name:
1.Oracle Certified Professional, Oracle Solaris Cluster 3.2 System Administrator

Solaris cluster 3.2 Exam
Exam Code 1Z0-884
Duration 100 minutes
Number of Questions 62
Passing Score 62%
Format Multiple Choice

Recommended Training: Oracle Solaris Cluster Administration 
Training Mandatory for this certification:No

3.Oracle Solaris network administration:
Oracle has certification program for Solaris network professional to prove their technical competency.To complete Oracle Solaris network administration, you mush hold the Oracle Certified Professional, Oracle Solaris 10 System Administrator or Sun Certified System Administrator for Solaris OS (any edition) .

Certification Name:
Oracle Certified Expert, Oracle Solaris 10 Network Administrator
Exam Code 1Z0-880
Duration 120 minutes
Number of Questions 64
Passing Score 66%
Format Multiple Choice
OS version Solaris 10

Recommended Training:Network Administration for the Solaris 10 Operating System 
Training Mandatory for this certification:No

4.Oracle Solaris security:
This certification is for system admins who has extensive job role as security administrator in Oracle Solaris for their organization.Prior to this certification you need to complete oracle training to give this certification exam or you need to be certified in Oracle Certified Professional, Oracle Solaris 10 System Administrator.

Certification Name:
Oracle Certified Expert, Oracle Solaris 10 Security Administrator.
Exam Code 1Z0-881
Duration 90 minutes
Number of Questions 59
Passing Score 49%
Format Multiple Choice
OS version Solaris 10
Recommended Training:Configuring Security on the Solaris 10 OS Training Mandatory for this certification:Yes (If you are not already certified in OS)
All the best for your examination which you are planing from oracle.

You can see the further exam details in this link.
Thank you for reading this article.Please leave a comment if you have any doubt.I will get back to you.